Barbary Coast Award

Barbary Coast Award, Armistead Maupin, Laura Linney, 2007


Presented each year to a dynamic Bay Area author or literary organization for a lifetime of literary achievement, this eagerly anticipated evening brings together an outstanding line-up of literary stars, live music, and multi-media presentations for a novel, thoughtful, and highly entertaining tribute. An after-party follows.

Amy Tan & Los Train Wreck, Barbary Coast Award, 2009


Barbary Coast Award Recipients

2013: Ron Turner & Last Gasp Comics
2012: Poetry Flash
2011: Ishmael Reed
2010: Lawrence Ferlinghetti/City Lights Books
2009: Amy Tan
2008: Tobias Wolff
2007: Armistead Maupin